If you or a loved one was injured due to the actions of another party, Georgia allows a limited amount of time to file a lawsuit for the injury or death. This limited time is called a statute of limitations, and there are different timeframes for different offenses and different types of injuries.
Depending on the injury or harm, the statute of limitations deadline can be as short as a few months or as long as 20 years and beyond. The attorneys at Roden Law are well-versed in Georgia law and can explain which statute of limitations applies to your case, and we can help you file a case within the limitations that apply to your case.
Our team has years of experience helping our clients seek the compensation they need and the justice they deserve. We have helped them obtain millions of dollars in compensation for their losses, and we can put that success to work on your case as well. Contact us today to find out what we can do for you.
Call 1-844-RESULTS today to schedule your free case review with a member of our legal team.
Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations
If your loved one died due to the negligent or purposeful actions of another party, you may be able to pursue compensation for the wrongful death of your loved one. Our Savannah wrongful death lawyers can review your claim and explain your options to you.
The statute of limitations for wrongful death lawsuits is two years from the date of the death.
If your loved one’s estate does not have an appointed administrator, there is a tolling period (extension) of five years before the two-year statute of limitations begins. This gives extra time to allow the person’s family to file a case for their losses, which can include:
- Medical costs
- Lost wages
- Loss of future income
- Pain and suffering
- Loss of companionship
- Funeral costs
- Punitive damages
The statute of limitations may also be tolled if a criminal case is also being pursued against the at-fault party for the death of your loved one. The statute of limitations will begin on the date the criminal case is resolved.
Government Liability Statute of Limitations for Wrongful Death
If a wrongful death claim is filed against a city, municipality or the state, the statute of limitations in Georgia is six to 12 months from the date of the harm or the death. For example, if your loved one died because of a hazard in a roadway, you have a shortened length of time during which you can file a lawsuit. Your wrongful death lawyer in Savannah can explain your rights and the deadlines that must be met for filing a case.
Although it may be difficult to consider pursuing a lawsuit after your loved one has died, it is important that you seek justice on his or her behalf before you lose your right to do so. The caring lawyers at Roden Law are ready to listen to you and discuss the ways you may be entitled to pursue compensation on your loved one’s behalf.
We work solely on contingency, which means we do not get paid unless you do. If we are not able to help you obtain compensation, you owe us nothing. Contact us today to schedule a free, confidential, no-risk consultation.
Complete our simple Free Case Evaluation form to have our legal team analyze your case.
Medical Malpractice Statute of Limitations
The statute of limitations for medical malpractice lawsuits is two years from the date of the surgery or when the malpractice occurred, according to O.C.G.A. § 9-3-71. This deadline can be extended to begin on the date an injury was discovered if it was not immediately apparent. However, no case for medical malpractice can be filed more than five years after the incident that caused the injury.
An exception to this rule is if a foreign object is left in a patient’s body during surgery. In this case, the statute of limitations in Georgia is one year from the date when the object was discovered, regardless of when the object was discovered, according to O.C.G.A. § 9-3-72.
In cases of malpractice involving a patient who is under the age of 10, the Georgia statute of limitations does not begin until the child reaches age 10. The child’s parents may file a case on his or her behalf before that point, but the statute allows this extension because young children do not always exhibit symptoms or cannot explain their pain.
If you or a loved one is the victim of medical malpractice, contact our seasoned medical malpractice attorneys at Roden Law. We can review your case and fight for your right to the compensation that is owed to you.
Call 1-844-RESULTS to schedule a free consultation with a successful attorney at our firm.
Product Liability Statute of Limitations
Product liability lawsuits also have a two-year statute of limitations. The Georgia Supreme Court has ruled that the statute of repose (when the Georgia statute of limitations clock begins to run) for product liability starts on the date the product was sold, not when it was manufactured or other prior times in production and distribution. Therefore, it is ideal to have the receipt or other evidence of the date on which a harmful product was purchased.
If you were harmed by a product, there may be other people who were also hurt or who will be hurt by the product. Therefore, it is important to quickly contact a seasoned product liability lawyer who will help you file a product liability case and recover compensation for your injuries
The Georgia statute of limitations for product liability is complex, so contact Roden Law today to have an experienced attorney review your claim. We charge no upfront fees and your consultation is free, so there is no risk to you to talk to us about your product liability issue.
Fill out our Free Case Evaluation form today to have our team review your claim.
Do Not Wait to Contact a Lawyer Today
If you or a loved one was injured or died due to the negligent or purposeful actions of another party, contact Roden Law as soon as possible. We will review your case and determine what is owed to you or your loved one’s estate, and we can help ensure the case is filed within the Georgia statute of limitations. That way, you will have the best chance possible to obtain the compensation you and your family deserve.
Our law firm charges no upfront fees, and you do not pay us unless we are able to help you recover compensation. Contact us today to schedule a free consultation to find out how we can help you.