You have a limited amount of time to take legal action after being the victim of a car accident that resulted from someone else’s negligence. You need to take action quickly, whether you are filing an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit. The problem is: the legal process is complicated, and mistakes could hurt your chances of recovering the fair compensation you deserve. This is where having a reputable and experienced attorney with a track record of success can be a big help. The Brunswick car accident lawyers of Roden Law have helped many car crash victims recover compensation to help them move on with their lives.
Schedule your free legal consultation right now so we can go over how we can assist you. You are under no obligation to move forward with an insurance claim or lawsuit after meeting with our attorneys. You will also not be charged for having us represent you unless we make a recovery on your behalf. We do not want you to be worried about how to afford our services and have this prevent you from seeking qualified legal assistance.
Despite efforts by local officials in the Traffic Safety Division of the county government, car crashes continue to be a problem throughout Glynn County, both fatal and non-fatal accidents. In 2017 alone, there were 2,906 crashes causing 1,119 injuries and 16 fatalities (this is a more than 50 percent increase compared to 2016). Our attorneys take cases involving many types of accidents on roads around the county, from major roadways like I-95 and Highway 17 to roads in urban and rural areas.
You can contact our attorneys today by calling 1-844-RESULTS.
Who is Responsible for Car Accident Damages in Georgia?
Like most states, Georgia makes the at-fault driver responsible for damages (medical bills, property damage, lost wages, etc.) from a car crash. This means auto accident victims must first pursue compensation from the at-fault driver’s car insurance policy. You could also contact your own insurance company, but they will likely seek compensation from the other driver’s car insurance.
One of the advantages to this kind of system, also called a tort-liability system, is you also have the option to file a personal injury lawsuit. In no-fault states, such as Florida, you only have the right to file a car accident lawsuit under certain circumstances.
Since drivers who cause accidents are financially responsible for damages suffered by victims, the state of Georgia requires every driver to carry certain minimum amounts of car insurance coverage:
- Liability for bodily injuries – You must have at least $25,000 in coverage for each individual who is injured in the crash, and a total of $50,000 per accident. This coverage would pay for the victim’s medical bills and lost wages caused by the accident.
- Liability for property damage – The other driver would also be financially responsible for damage to your vehicle if he or she is found to be at-fault for the accident. Georgia requires you to purchase a minimum of $25,000 coverage for each single accident.
Contact a Brunswick car accident lawyer today. Fill out a Free Case Evaluation form.
Compensation from Your Car Insurance
If another driver only has the minimum amount of coverage, his insurance policy may not cover the full cost of your damages. When this happens, we may be able to turn to your car insurance policy to pursue the difference between the at-fault driver’s coverage limits and the cost of your damages.
We can only pursue compensation from your insurance policy if you have additional coverages, beyond the minimum required by law. These additional coverages may include:
- Collision coverage – This is essentially property damage liability coverage, except it is for your vehicle. You can obtain compensation to repair your vehicle or replace the fair market value.
- Medical payments – This is bodily injury liability coverage, except it applies to your medical expenses.
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage – Many drivers have this coverage because they have to reject it in writing, although it is not technically required under the law. Since some drivers choose to break the law and drive without insurance, the state allows you to purchase insurance in case one of these drivers causes an accident with your vehicle. The coverage minimums are the same as the minimum requirements for bodily injury liability. This coverage can also be used if the other driver does not have enough coverage for the full cost of your damages.
- Uninsured motorist property damage – You can use this to cover damage to your vehicle if the other driver has no insurance coverage or lacks sufficient coverage for the full cost of your damages. The minimum amount of coverage is the same as property damage liability, and there is a deductible you must pay before using the coverage, depending on your policy.
Our Brunswick car accident lawyers are prepared to pursue full compensation for your damages through the insurance claims process. We have dealt with many insurance companies over the years and know how to defend your best interests every step of the way. We are aggressive negotiators who understand the tricks insurers use to try to avoid paying fair compensation.
You can schedule your free legal consultation right now by calling us at 1-844-RESULTS.
What Happens if My Car Insurance Claim is Denied?
One thing people often forget about insurance companies is they are not on the side of drivers. They are pursuing their own interest, namely staying in business by making money. They cannot stay in business by paying compensation for every claim that gets filed. They have an incentive to deny or devalue claims, even ones that are perfectly legitimate.
Unfortunately, drivers forget this, and they are often surprised when their insurance claim is denied, or they receive a settlement offer for far less compensation than they deserve. Accident victims often do not know what to do when these things happen. Insurance companies know this, and they hope victims will accept a lowball settlement or not pursue things further.
This is where it is very helpful to have a licensed, qualified and experienced attorney representing you. Insurance companies do not want you to work with an attorney because they know he or she will not fall for their tricks.
A car accident lawyer can negotiate with the insurance company on your behalf. The trusted attorneys at Roden Law enter these negotiations with full knowledge of the value of your claim and what a fair settlement offer will look like. We are ready for a back-and-forth negotiation until we secure the compensation you deserve.
Our attorneys are also prepared to take matters to the courtroom to obtain the compensation you deserve. Insurance companies know the attorneys who are prepared to go to court and the ones who are not. Sometimes simply dealing with a lawyer who has had success in court motivates the insurance company to find a fair resolution to the claims process.
However, you do not have to wait until your claim has been denied to contact our attorneys. In fact, the sooner you contact us the better. There is a limited amount of time to file a lawsuit and much of this time will be taken up pursuing insurance compensation. The faster you contact us, the faster we can go to work for you. Our goal is to reach a fair resolution as quickly as possible, so you receive the compensation you need to help you move on with your life.
Georgia’s statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits is two years from the date of the accident. Once two years pass, you no longer have the right to file a lawsuit.
Our Brunswick car accident lawyers can handle every step of the legal process for you. We understand how serious your injuries are and the important thing right now is for you to rest and heal and continue your treatment.
Call Roden Law today at 1-844-RESULTS.
Can I Still be Compensated if I am Partially at Fault for the Crash?
There are a lot of accidents that occur because of the actions of just one driver. However, there are also a lot of crashes that occur as the result of multiple drivers’ actions, including the victim’s actions. Many drivers do not know what happens in these situations.
The answer is: the situation falls under Georgia’s modified comparative negligence statute. This statute says drivers can receive compensation for accident damages provided they do not have a higher percentage of responsibility than the other party or parties involved in the accident. This means your percentage of responsibility cannot be more than 50 percent, otherwise you have forfeited your right to receive any amount of compensation.
For drivers who are less than 50 percent at fault, their total compensation award will be reduced by the percentage of fault. The percentage of fault will either be determined by an insurance company or jury, if you are filing a lawsuit.
The way to understand this best is to look at an example: One car was rear-ended by another whose driver was speeding. The accident caused the rear-ended driver to suffer whiplash. Even though the one driver should not have been speeding, the victim cut off the speeding driver just seconds before impact. In this scenario, both drivers could be found at fault. For example, the victim may be 20 percent at fault. This means his or her total compensation award of $20,000 would be reduced by $4,000.
Another benefit of having a skilled attorney working on your case is he or she can work to determine a fair amount of fault for the accident. He or she can fight back if the insurance company attempts to assign you more fault than you deserve, based on what happened.
Complete our Free Case Evaluation form right now.
Tips on Staying Safe After a Crash
This cannot be emphasized enough: the most important thing after being involved in a collision is your health and safety. This means getting out of harm’s way after an accident and obtaining competent medical treatment. This is why you often see parents telling their teenage drivers they are just glad they are safe after being involved in a crash.
After injuries have been treated and stabilized, you and your attorney can deal with the other issues, such as collecting evidence and filing an insurance claim.
Here are some practical tips on trying to ensure your safety after being the victim of an auto accident:
Get Your Car Off the Road
Drivers do not expect cars to be stopped in the middle of the road or in active traffic lanes. Unfortunately, given the rise of distracted driving, accidents are even more likely when there are unexpected obstacles or hazards in the roadway.
This is why accident victims should try to get their cars off the roadway and away from the flow of traffic. Turn on your hazard lights, whether you can move your car or not.
If your car is not running or is unsafe to drive, try to get out of your car and get to a safe location. However, be careful getting out of the car and watch traffic around you. Do not assume drivers see you – make eye contact and observe cars slowing down or stopping before passing in front of them.
Try to Assess Your Injuries
If you are seriously hurt, the best thing to do might be to stay in your car. If you get out or move around too much you could make your injuries worse.
Even if you cannot move too much, try to take mental notes of where you are hurt. Where are you bleeding? Where do you feel pain? Are any movements or motions painful?
Get Treatment from a Qualified Doctor
You should never make an assumption about your injuries, even if you are a doctor yourself. It is best to have a doctor look you over to find out what is going on. This is true even if you think your injuries are minor and will not become very serious.
You need to avoid waiting to seek treatment. It is best to be seen by doctors as soon after the accident as possible. This helps to establish a strong connection between your injuries and the accident. Even waiting a day to seek treatment could make the insurance company suspicious about the source of your injuries.
To learn more about what an attorney can do for you after an accident, contact our Brunswick car accident attorneys right now.
Gathering Evidence After an Accident
Nothing changes the fact that your first priority after a car crash is your health and safety. That being said, if you are able to, you should try to collect evidence from the accident scene. While our attorneys can certainly collect evidence later on, evidence from right after the crash can go a long way toward strengthening a car accident claim.
The advantage to many people having smartphones is they can take pictures right after a crash. You can photograph your injuries, damage to any vehicles, street signs and landmarks identifying the location of the crash, damage to the roadway caused by the accident, and hazards or obstacles that contributed to the crash.
Another thing you can do right after the accident that you might not be able to do later on is talk to witnesses. Unless the witnesses talk to police, they might never be heard from again as to what they saw in the accident. Even if you cannot talk to them at length, ask for contact information so you can contact them again in the future.
Other information you can gather at the scene to help build your case includes:
- Names, ages, addresses and contact information for everyone involved in crash, including the cars they were driving
- Insurance information for each driver
- Year, make and model of each vehicle involved in the crash
- Date and time of the crash
- Description of the damage to each vehicle and whether it is drivable
- Your account of what occurred (including what other drivers were doing before the crash)
Time is of the essence after an accident. The more time passes, the harder it becomes to remember exactly what happened and collect evidence to prove what occurred. This is why it is best to act quickly, keeping in mind that your health and safety is still priority number one.
Reporting Your Crash
You should always call the police after a car crash. When the police officer arrives, explain what happened and detail your injuries. The officer will put your comments and the other driver’s comments into his or her report on the crash. The police report could very well be a crucial piece of evidence of your accident and how the other driver is at fault. For example, if the other driver receives a traffic citation, it will go a long way toward establishing this person is at fault.
State law also requires drivers to report a crash (Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) § 40-6-273) if it results in:
- Injury or death
- Property damage valued at $500 or more
You must report the crash by the quickest means of communication to the local police department. If you are involved in an accident outside of a municipality, you must notify the office of the county sheriff or the nearest office of the state patrol.
It is easier to determine if someone suffered an injury, but it can be harder to determine the value of property damage. This is why it is best to err on the side of caution and simply report what happened, no matter how minor you believe the accident to be.
It is a good idea to contact a lawyer as soon as possible so he or she can immediately begin working for you. Our Brunswick car accident lawyers can review what you have collected and begin our own investigation. You do not have to worry about dealing with the insurance company and the tricks they will use to try to deny or devalue your claim. Our attorneys are prepared and know how to defend the full value of your claim throughout the legal process.
Contact a lawyer right now by calling 1-844-RESULTS.
Types of Car Accident Cases
As long as negligence is involved in your accident, our attorneys may be able to help you pursue compensation for your damages. We take on cases involving many different kinds of accidents, such as:
- Distracted-driving crashes
- Drunk-driving crashes
- Speeding accidents
- Rear-end crashes
- Head-on collisions
- Multi-car accidents
- Side-impact/T-bone accidents
- Sideswipes and merging accidents
- Crashes caused by dangerous road conditions
- Hit-and-run crashes
- Crashes involving pedestrians
- Single-vehicle crashes
If you were injured in an accident with a commercial truck, contact our Brunswick truck accident lawyers. They take on cases involving accidents with commercial trucks.
If the accident resulted from another driver’s negligence, we may be able to pursue compensation. We must prove the other driver was reckless or careless and link this to the accident. In other words, we need to show you would not have suffered an injury without the other driver acting in a negligent manner.
Contact us today so we can launch a detailed investigation into your crash, inform you of your rights, and fight for all compensation you need and deserve.
Fill out our Free Case Evaluation form right now.
Contact a Brunswick Car Accident Lawyer
Despite all of the advances in car safety, from electronic stability control to collision warning systems and airbags, car accidents continue to cause many serious injuries each day across Georgia and the U.S. The truly sad part of many of these crashes is they could have been avoided – they were caused by someone being careless behind the wheel.
Victims of these crashes may be able to recover compensation by filing an insurance claim or personal injury lawsuit (often after an insurance claim is unsuccessful). The problem is the legal process is complicated and very difficult for accident victims to manage on their own.
Our Brunswick car accident lawyers understand this and want to help. We take car accident cases on a contingency, which means we do not receive compensation for providing legal help until our clients are compensated. Review our case results to see how we have helped many auto accident victims recover the compensation they deserve.