Steps to Take When You Get Hurt on the Job
If you were injured on the job, you may be confused about what to do and if you can be compensated for your injuries. This is why it may be a good idea to learn about the steps you should take before an injury occurs so you will already know what to do.
The experienced Savannah workers’ compensation attorneys at Roden Law can walk you through the entire workers’ compensation process, which can often be confusing. We are committed to fighting for the benefits you deserve.
Seek Medical Attention
It is important for you to seek medical attention after a workplace accident to stabilize your injuries and connect your injury to the accident. However, workers’ compensation insurance will not cover your injury unless you seek medical care from an authorized medical care provider. Your employer should provide you with a list of doctors you can see.
Additionally, your employer is required to post the name of the Workers’ Compensation Managed Care Organization, which can help you schedule your medical appointment with an approved doctor.
When you visit the doctor, be sure to explain that the injury occurred at work and follow all of the doctor’s orders about treatment and limiting certain activities that could aggravate your injuries.
Notify Your Supervisor
After your work accident, it is critical that you notify your supervisor. In the state of Georgia, workers’ compensation laws require that you report your accident to your employer or supervisor within 30 days.
However, it is generally not a good idea to wait to file, even though you have 30 days. If you wait, the insurance company may question the cause of the delay, whether you were actually injured and whether the injury is tied to your work.
Sometimes there are injuries that do not seem very serious initially, but complications could develop at a later date. This is why it is important to report any work injury, no matter how minor it is, so that it is documented and any complications can be easily tied to the injury and the workplace accident.
Complete a Workers’ Compensation Claim Form
After you report your injury to your employer, you must also complete Form WC-14: Notice of Claim. This form can be handed in to your employer or its workers’ compensation insurance company. Your employer is required to post contact information for the insurer in a visible location at your workplace.
Fill out all relevant information on the form and sign and date it. Check the box on the top of the form to indicate that it is a “Notice of Claim Only.” This form is also used to request a hearing in the event of an appeal or to request mediation with your employer. Make sure to keep a copy for your records.
Learn More About Your Legal Rights
If you were injured at work, you should learn about your legal rights and the type of benefits you may be able to receive. For example, you may be able to sue a third party that was involved in your accident, such as another motorist or an independent contractor. You should also understand what your rights are if your workers' compensation claim is denied and you want to appeal this decision.
The experienced Savannah workers’ compensation lawyers at Roden Law can explain your rights and help you seek compensation for your lost wages and medical expenses related to your work injury. Our attorneys have successfully recovered compensation for numerous Georgia workers.
At Roden Law, there are no upfront fees. Because we work on a contingency fee basis, you will not be charged for our services unless we recover compensation on your behalf.
Contact our firm today by calling 1-844-RESULTS.