What Is a Super Speeder in Georgia?
If you tend to live a fast-paced life, you need to be extra cautious of your lead foot because speeding in Georgia can cost you a lot of money and possibly your license. The title "Super Speeder" may sound cool, but it is an expensive status that jeopardizes the lives of other drivers you share the road with.
If you were injured by one of these so-called Super Speeders, you have the right to pursue compensation for damages you suffered. A skilled car accident lawyer in Savannah from Roden Law can discuss your rights and options for recovery for free.
Defining a Super Speeder in Georgia
The Super Speeder Law in Georgia became effective in 2010 and it defines a Super Speeder as any driver who is convicted of traveling 75 mph or more on a two-lane road or 85 mph or more on any road or state highway.
Individuals convicted of violating this law are required to pay an extra fine of $200 in addition to other fines and court costs. The $200 fine is a state fine that goes to fund the state’s trauma care hospital system, while the other fines are local fines that go to the law enforcement agency that stopped the driver. Approximately 66 percent of trauma-care patients in the trauma care hospital system are being treated for injuries from motor vehicle crashes.
The intent of the law was to impose additional penalties on high-risk drivers who were endangering the lives and safety of other drivers. The Georgia Governor’s Office of Highway Safety reports that there is a speed-related death every day in the state of Georgia, on average.
If you are convicted of violating the Super Speeder Law, you have 120 days from the notice date to pay the fine, otherwise your driver's license will be suspended. You cannot have your license reinstated until you pay the Super Speeder fine and a $50 license reinstatement fee to Georgia's Department of Driver Services. Drivers can pay Super Speeder fines online.
What If I am an Out-of-State Driver?
Out-of-state drivers are still subject to the same requirements as drivers who reside in Georgia. If they do not pay the Super Speeder fee, they will be subject to a suspension of their driving privileges in Georgia. Additionally, the suspension will be reported to the licensing authority of the driver’s home state, which may take further action if it desires.
Hit By a Speeding Driver? Contact a Licensed Lawyer Today
Speeding often results in crashes because the speeding driver has less time to react if he or she sees a hazard ahead. If a collision occurs because of speeding, it is more likely to cause serious injury to the driver and victims because of the force of impact.
As an accident victim, you have the right to pursue compensation against a speeding driver who recklessly caused your crash. You will likely face daunting medical expenses, loss of income and other damages as you recover from the accident. The skilled legal team at Roden Law can discuss your legal options during a free, no-obligation consultation.
If you decide to move forward with your claim, you will not owe attorney fees unless we successfully recover compensation on your behalf.